Screen Shot 2016-09-19 at 11.30.46 AM

Tell us a little bit about yourself: Although I was born in Pittsburgh, PA, my family moved here when I was 2 years old so I claim to be a KC native. I went to Rockhurst HS and KU, majoring in Accounting and Business, have my CPA, and worked in accounting for 12 years until I came to Scott Rice. I have been married to Dianne for 27 years (come November), and have three daughters: Lauren, in law school at Harvard, Meg, a senior at Illinois Wesleyan majoring in History and Secondary Ed, and Kathleen, a freshman at Shawnee Mission East.
What is your role at SR:  Workplace Consultant is what is on our business cards, but I usually tell people I am an account rep. I have had a number of clients (KCPL, Quest, Johnson County, City of Overland Park, FRE) for over 20 years.

Before working here, what was the most interesting job you held:  I was the Director of State and Local Taxes at United Telecom (predecessor of Sprint), and part of my job was working with the legislative lobbyist for the State of Kansas. I got to write a small section of the corporate tax code that I believe (and it someone would need to dig pretty deep to prove me wrong!) that it is still in the Kansas Tax code.
Hobbies/interests outside of work: Our three daughters have kept us pretty busy for the last 20 years or so, going to sporting events, concerts, plays all of those fun things, so I have not had a lot of time to devote to a hobby. I do covet Dieckman’s train sets!

Favorite movie/book:  Movie-tough to narrow down but classics like Casablanca, Philadelphia Story, Bullitt and Young Frankenstein I will watch over and over again.  Since my father worked on the Manhattan Project, I really enjoyed The Making of the Atomic Bomb by Richard Rhodes.

Hidden Talents: I am pretty good at trivia, and not a bad photographer.

Greatest achievement:
 I think it would be working with a small group of volunteers that have been able to, in 6 years (or so) build and staff a health clinic, dig a well, start a church, and build a children’s home that currently houses twelve girls in a small village in Kenya that is 9000 miles away!
Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 4.26.39 PM
Most treasured possession:  We have a pretty small family, and I have been able to keep a lot of mementoes (pictures, letters, china, etc) that help me stay in touch with my past.

What did you want to be when you grew up: I have no clue; I think I always thought I would be a college professor or in the business world doing something!

What is your biggest pet peeve: 
I don’t suffer fools gladly.

What is one thing you couldn’t live without?
 I have a wonderful group of friends (and I count my family as part of them) some that I have known since I was 5 years old.
Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 4.30.34 PM

Post Your Comment