Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 3.02.45 PM
Tell us a little bit about yourself:  I grew up in a small town in southwest Iowa, Bedford.  I am the only child of two teachers.  I graduated from Northwest Missouri State University in 1999, and am very thankful for my time there.  Not only did I meet my husband, Doug, there, but I also have this job because of it.  I landed my internship with Color Art for the summer of 1999 due to a project I did for my Sales & Sales management class mock selling Context to my former boss.  After my internship I was hired on as a salesperson.  After about a year in that role, I determined it was not for me and thankfully found my way into the admin department.
Doug and I have two children, Emily, who is 13 and starting 8th grade and Aiden, who is 10 and starting 5th grade.  I asked them to help me answer these questions, and Emily’s reply included the fact that we have “2 annoying cats.”  Aiden knew that I have worked here for 17 years (math is really his thing).
What is your role at SR:   Aiden says, “I help with the orders,” which is basically what I do.  My official title is “Account Coordinator.”

Before working here, what was the most interesting job you held: Aiden says being an RA in college was probably the most interesting, while Emily thinks my job at Godfather’s Pizza/Bedford Country store was interesting too.  I’d have to say that they were both interesting and I met lots of people and learned to work with a variety of people in both of those jobs.
Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 2.14.09 PM
Hobbies/interests outside of work: Emily says reading, which is true; I do love to relax by the pool or on the couch and read a good book.  I also enjoy running, although I’m injured right now, I hope to be back out there soon.  I enjoy watching my kids perform and compete in all of their various activities.  I still call myself a scrapbooker, although I don’t find much time to do it anymore.  Doug and I like to check out the local brewery scene and help support their efforts!  We love watching Royals baseball and the past two years, have hosted “garage parties” to watch and cheer them through the playoffs and World Series.

Favorite movie/book:  I probably can’t name one; I love to read “chick lit,” especially in the summertime.  Grease is one of my all-time favorite movies…although Aiden thought it was Mean Girls…I’m not sure what that means. 🙂

Hidden Talents: Aiden says “running fast” which is probably because running is a fairly new hobby for me.  If you would have asked me before the summer of 2015, I would have told you, “If you see me running, you should run too!  Something is chasing me or my kids are in danger!” 

Greatest achievement:  Obviously my family is my greatest achievement, but I’m pretty darn proud of the two half marathons I’ve run in the last year too.

image000000_3Most treasured possession:  Again, my family…and along those lines, scrapbooks that I have created…but I’m about 10 years behind on those now!

What did you want to be when you grew up: My kids actually knew this one!  An architect or a fashion designer

What is your biggest pet peeve: Aiden says it is “My 10 year old waking up early,” Emily says it is “Having people step on my feet”
What is one thing you couldn’t live without?  They nailed it again, Emily said “my husband and kids” and Aiden said “my family”
Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 2.38.05 PM

Post Your Comment